• Sims 4 has eight life stages, including newborn, infant, toddler, child, teen, young adult, adult, and elder.
  • Each life stage comes with its own unique experiences, milestones, and gameplay features.
  • Players can choose traits, attend school, have jobs, and pursue life aspirations as their Sims progress through the different life stages.

Living as a Sim comes with many ups and downs, and each Life Stage comes with its own sets of trials and joys. The Sims 4 launched with six Life Stages, which has now increased to eight through game updates. As each generation comes and goes in The Sims 4, Sims live and grow. While following those stages of the journey, it's important to know what to expect for each one.

The Sims 4: 12 Best Storylines To Liven Up The Game
Even with all of its possibilities, The Sims 4 can still get boring after a while. These storylines should help liven things up.

The Childhood Years of The Sims 4


Newborn Sims are the youngest life stage of any Sim. Newborns are confined to their bassinets, and the game treats them as Objects rather than Sims. Luckily, this Life Stage doesn't last very long, and can even be ended prematurely by clicking on the Newborn.


Infants are a new Life Stage for The Sims 4, and were introduced in a patch when The Sims 4: Growing Together was released. Unlike Newborns, Infancy is an incredibly changeable and dynamic Life Stage in which Sims grow and thrive with care and attention from their caregivers. Infants develop through Milestones, which they achieve through practice. Infants are also unique in that they can develop random quirks, which are discovered through gameplay.


Toddlers were added in a patch several years after The Sims 4's launch. With a new Life Stage comes new personalities that can be chosen by the player as the Sim ages up from Infant to Toddler. Like Infants, Toddlers also get quirks that are revealed through gameplay. These will differ from the ones they had as Infants, and may even contradict their previous quirks. Teaching Toddlers skills such as Movement, Communication, and Imagination is vital for their wellbeing, in addition to ensuring all their needs are met.


Children have been a Life Stage in The Sims 4 since it launched. Players get to choose one trait for them when they become a Child. They can go to school, complete special school projects to increase their school performance, and attend after-school activities if The Sims 4: Seasons or The Sims 4: Get Famous is installed.


The Teen Life Stage brings a range of content, depending on the content packs installed. The Sims 4: High School Years adds a high school, school activities, prom, and a variety of hangout spots for Teen Sims. Teens can also become the primary caretakers of Sims in Life Stages younger than them, and don't need an Adult in the household. With The Sims 4: Parenthood, Teens can discipline the younger Sims in their care.

The Adult Years of The Sims 4

Young Adult

This Life Stage was added to The Sims with The Sims 2: University, and is now a staple in every game. Like previous games, Young Adults can choose to go to university if The Sims 4: Discover University is installed; otherwise the Life Stage behaves as normal. Young Adults can get full-time jobs, advance their careers, and have children through adoption, pregnancy, or having a science baby. Any occult Sims have their full powers unlocked by the time they're Young Adults.


This is the original Life Stage in The Sims. Adults are more settled in their lives than the turbulent Young Adults before them, and much of the content in The Sims 4 is centered around this Life Stage, although it isn't functionally much different from a Young Adult. This is the apex of a Sim's life, and where they should be achieving their life's Aspirations (unless a Midlife Crisis gets in the way).


Unfortunately, Elder Sims don't have as much content as the Life Stages that come before them. The length of this Life Stage is determined by a number of factors, including how Active the Sim was during their life. Elders can become custodians of their own keepsake boxes and pass them on to younger family members, and they can acquire the Wise trait from their long years of accumulated experience.

The Sims 4
FranchiseThe Sims
Platform(s)PS4, PC, Xbox One
Publisher(s)Electronic Arts
ESRBT for Teen: Crude Humor, Sexual Themes, Violence
How Long To BeatN/A
X|S EnhancedNo
File Size Xbox Series22 GB (November 2023)

2024-01-28T06:13:11Z dg43tfdfdgfd